Locus of control

My mother and I stepped over trash
on a sidewalk, and she taught me
to judge the litterers.

My father taught me
to pick it up: the glee of superiority.

My priest and our youth group
stepped around a drunk face down
on a sidewalk, and he taught us
selective ministry.

My government and my peace group
debated the war and then
how to leave, what is our

duty,
who has the moral authority
to take responsibility
for the mess we have made.

Who do we think we are?

 

 

This and other poems were published by The RavensPerch June 2016.

Leave a Reply

